Friday, December 14, 2007

States with and without the death penalty

7:38 PM EST, December 13, 2007

Thirty-seven states currently have the death penalty while 13 do not, according to the Washington-based Death Penalty Information Center. A bill to abolish the death penalty in New Jersey was approved Thursday by the state Assembly. It now goes to Gov. Jon S. Corzine, who has said he will sign it.

States with the death penalty:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming.

States without the death penalty:

Alaska, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin.


On the Net:

Death Penalty Information Center:

No comments: